Visit Montpellier - Guided city tour in English: Historical Center

30 allée Jean de Lattre de Tassigny, 34000 MONTPELLIER (show map)
Category: Events, Guided tour, Guided tours in foreign languages
Date: Saturday 29 jun 2019 - Saturday 28 Sep 2019
About our guest reviews: The guest reviews are submitted by our guests after their stay. They are opinions of guests that reflect their experiences when staying at this property. Scores are based on a 1 (poor) to 5 (excellent) rating system.

Individual reviews by our guests (showing 1-10 of 12)

Very informative tour

Recommended by Jane, Australia (Australia Mon 10 Jun 2019)
“Even though we had explored Montpellier for almost a week, there was so much more this tour gave us. Julia is a very knowledgeable guide with a lovely sense of humour. We enjoyed our two hours with her v much and learnt a lot more about the city than we had been able to glean by ourselves.”
Overall opinion 5 of 5

Friendly & informative

Recommended by Jackie , Ireland (Ireland Wed 20 Mar 2019)
“Very good tour with access to places which I couldn’t visit by myself ”
Overall opinion 5 of 5

A fascinating and enjoyable tour revealing many secrets about Montpellier

Recommended by Hilary, France (France Mon 25 Feb 2019)
“After having visited Montpellier many times over a 30-year period, I learned more than I could have hoped for on this excellent guided tour with Danielle. I saw many buildings in a new light and understood how they had come to be built and by whom. 1000-years of history was revealed in fascinating detail, such as the meaning of many of the stone-carvings that decorate the medieval and Haussman-era fascades; the history of Montpellier's Jewish community through the ages; the grand urban plans (some of which never came to fruition!) over the centuries. We visited an ancient underground Jewish baths and finished the tour with the stunning panorama over the city from the top of the triumphal arch (which is older than Paris' Arc de Triomphe). I wholeheartedly recommend this tour to anyone visiting (or already living in) Montpellier and its surrounds.”
Visit Montpellier - Guided city tour in English: Historical Center replies (Tue 16 Apr 2019) WOW! Dear Hilary, What a beautifil description you made of the city. I officially appoint you best goodwill ambassador of Montpellier ;). Many thanks Hilary. We trully appreciate your comments. Sandrine, resp qualité
Overall opinion 5 of 5

Talking about history

Recommended by Katie, Cape Verde (Cape Verde Mon 04 Feb 2019)
“Excellent overview of the city, with more talking than walking. I would have liked to go further even though it was raining hard. It would have been nice to see more interiors especially since it was raining. The guide was great with lots of maps that I could not see and documents that were impossible to read. But it was a lot of history which is good. Unfortunately, he was a patronizing chauvinist as are so many French men who have it stuck in their brains that women are somehow others, but that’s also part of the tour nest pas?”
Overall opinion 4 of 5

Interesting walk

Recommended by Anonymous , Canada (Canada Mon 28 Jan 2019)
“Bernard was very organized with plenty of material to share. He was funny, considerate and provided current and past history ”
Overall opinion 5 of 5

Great !

Recommended by Brice de Chicago not Nice , United States (United States Mon 21 Jan 2019)
“Everything was great. Highly recommend this tour with Bernard. He was entertaining, fun and knowledgeable Great tour. Did I mention this tour was great !!!!”
Overall opinion 5 of 5

Excellent Guided City Tour of Montpellier

Recommended by Janette, United States (United States Mon 21 Jan 2019)
“The tour provided by the tourist center was the best city tour I've ever been on (which is quite a few tours). The tour guide's expertise, enthusiasm, ability to speak effectively to a group, photos and other materials he showed to underscore certain details, and the access he provided us normally not available - to see the Jewish bath and to enter the "L'arc de Triomphe" -- all made for a guided tour that ended up being the highlight of my visit to Montpellier. A very, very big thank you to the Tourist Office and the Tour Guide for providing this experience. Thanks to the Tourist Office for suggesting it! ”
Visit Montpellier - Guided city tour in English: Historical Center replies (Tue 16 Apr 2019) Thnak you Janette ! Don't make us blush! It's a pleasure for us to read your comments. We hope to welcome you again at the Tourist Office. Thank you so much. Sandrine, resp qualité
Overall opinion 5 of 5

Positif

Recommended by Anouche, France (France Sun 30 Dec 2018)
“Le visite guidée été très intéressants, les lieux de visite sont très impressionnant. J'aimerais bien qu'il aura un peu plus de détails historiques. ”
Overall opinion 5 of 5

Le début parait très loin de l'objet de ...

Recommended by Henri, France (France Mon 17 Dec 2018)
“Le début parait très loin de l'objet de la visite (trop historique pour un trop long moment) ”
Overall opinion 5 of 5

Informative and interesting walk

Recommended by Amanda, Australia (Australia Wed 25 Jul 2018)
“Danielle is an excellent guide to old Montpellier, and shepherded our large group very skilfully. She took us to some special places, not usually accessible to tourists particularly the Mikve and the Arc de Triumphe view. She pointed out many interesting details about the city and the region. Highly recommended.”
Overall opinion 5 of 5


Customer Service

The official reservation center of the Montpellier Mediterranean Tourist Office

 

Phone: +33 (0)4 67 60 60 60

A team to help you 7days/7

 

Contact us by email

 

Your customer access to manage your booking

 

General Terms and Conditions


Book with us

Benefits to book with us:

 

• knowledge of the destination

• a team for preparing your stay , during your stay and after

• large offer of accommodation

• leisures, guided tour, City Card...

• track your satisfaction.

 

Best prices, no booking fees.

 

Cancellation and repayment until 2 days before for accommodation (except on special conditions).

 

Secure payment.

Follow us